Community Board Conference Speakers

LGNZ 2024 red 3958 x 630 px

Join us to hear from local experts who are truly making a difference in their communities. They'll share their valuable knowledge, insights, and lessons that you can bring back to your rohe.

Speakers >

CBEC speaker Angela Clifford

Angela Clifford

Angela Clifford is the powerhouse behind Eat New Zealand, a not for profit movement on a mission to reconnect New Zealanders with their land and ocean through food.

Read more >

CBEC speaker Renee Corlett

Renee Corlett

Renee Corlett is a seasoned emergency manager at the Wellington Region Emergency Management Office.

Read more >

CBEC speaker Ciaran Fox

Ciaran Fox

Ciaran Fox boasts an impressive 25-year career spanning health promotion, community engagement, and cultural initiatives.

Read more >

CBEC speaker Lesley Immink

Lesley Immink 

With a wealth of experience in the tourism industry, including serving as the former Chief Executive of the NZ Tourism Export Council, Lesley Immink now brings her expertise to her roles as Deputy Mayor of Whakatāne District Council.
Read more >

CBEC24 Mark Inman

Mark Inman

Mark Inman is a dedicated member of the Whakatane Ohope Community Board, now in his third term.

Read more >

CBEC speaker Tim Jones

Tim Jones

Tim Jones is President of Living Streets Aotearoa, the national organisation advocating for walking and pedestrians.

Read more >

CBEC speaker Andrew Judd

Andrew Judd

Andrew Judd is the former mayor of New Plymouth and a staunch supporter of Māori wards.

Read more >

CBEC24 Tom Kay

Tom Kay

Tom Kay is the driving force behind Forest & Bird's efforts to protect our rivers.

Read more >

CBEC Ants Lowe

Ants Lowe

Ants Lowe is the General Manager Operations at Drowning Prevention Aotearoa (DPA).

Read more >

CBEC24 Sarah Lucas

Sarah Lucas

Sarah Lucas stood for a community board role because she knows local government can make a big difference in people's lives.

Read more >

CBEC24 Hannah Mc Glue

Hannah McGlue

Hannah brings a sharp mind and relentless focus on quality to provide senior decision makers with strategic, frank advice.

Read more >

CBEC Pat Millar

Pat Millar

Pat Millar is the National Public Rescue Equipment Officer at Surf Life Saving New Zealand.

Read more >

CBEC speaker Dinne Moeahu

Dinnie Moeahu

Dinnie Moeahu (Te Atiawa, Ngāruahine, Taranaki, Te Arawa, and Ngāti Porou) is a second-term New Plymouth District Councillor.

Read more >

CBEC Kris Pervan

Kris Pervan 

Kris Pervan is a member of the Kāpiti Coast District Council Executive team and a proud resident of the West Coast of the North Island.

Read more >

CBEC24 Lindsay Smaill

Lindsay Smaill

Lindsay has a special interest in child, adolescent and caregiver mental health; trauma; and the climate crisis in all its intersectional complexity.

Read more >

CBEC24 Huhana Smith

Dr Huhana Smith

Dr Huhana Smith (Ngāti Tukorehe, Raukawa ki te Tonga), is a researcher tackling pressing environmental issues from freshwater to marine health and climate change impacts on coastal ancestral lands and biodiversity in Kuku, Horowhenua, both in New Zealand and globally.

Read more >

CBEC speakers Janet Stephenson

Janet Stephenson

As a social scientist, Janet Stephenson is interested in the complex societal issues involved in transitioning to a sustainable future.

Read more >

CBEC speaker Sara Templeton

Sara Templeton 

Sara was first elected to the Hagley-Ferrymead Community Board in 2013 and chaired the board until she was elected to Council in 2016.

Read more >

CBEC Moko Tepania

Moko Tepania

For Moko Tepania, local government is a place where mokopuna decisions are made.

Read more >

CBEC Sala Tiatia

Salatielu Tiatia  - MC

Sala Tiatia has devoted his life to turning around the lives of troubled youth.

Read more >

LGNZ24 Faylene Tunui

Faylene Tunui 

Faylene Tunui is the first Ngāti Tūwharetoa, tangata whenua mayor of Kawerau.

Read more >